Welcome to the official website of ESTL!

Current location: Home > News > Certification news > Technical information

News
Contact us

Service Hotline

400-840-8988

Phone: 0769-8507-5888-6617

Fax: 0769-8507-5898

Mailbox: net01@gdestl.com

Address: 2st floor, B Area, Jinbaisheng Industrial Park, Headquarters 2 Road, Songshan Lake Hi-tech Industrial Development Zone, Dongguan City, Guangdong Pr., China.

What are the main factors that restrict the low temperature performance of lithium ion batteries?

Editor:ESTL Category:Technical information Release time:2019-08-18 Click volume:138

The lithium ion battery is mainly composed of a positive electrode material, a negative electrode material, a separator, and an electrolyte. Lithium-ion batteries in a low-temperature environment are characterized by a drop in discharge voltage platform, low discharge capacity, fast capacity decay, and poor rate performance. The main factors that restrict the low temperature performance of lithium ion batteries are the following:


1. Positive structure

The three-dimensional structure of the positive electrode material restricts the diffusion rate of lithium ions, and the effect is particularly obvious at low temperatures. The cathode materials of lithium ion batteries include commercial lithium iron phosphate, nickel cobalt manganese ternary materials, lithium manganate, lithium cobalt oxide, etc., and also include high voltage cathode materials such as lithium nickel manganese oxide and lithium iron manganese phosphate in the development stage. , lithium vanadium phosphate and the like. Different cathode materials have different three-dimensional structures, and the cathode materials currently used as power batteries for electric vehicles are mainly lithium iron phosphate, nickel-cobalt-manganese ternary materials and lithium manganate. Wu Wendi et al studied the discharge performance of lithium iron phosphate battery and nickel cobalt manganese ternary battery at -20 ° C. It was found that the discharge capacity of lithium iron phosphate battery at -20 ° C can only reach 67.38% of normal temperature capacity, while nickel cobalt manganese three The battery can reach 70.1%.




2. High melting point solvent

Due to the presence of a high melting point solvent in the electrolyte mixed solvent, the viscosity of the lithium ion battery electrolyte increases in a low temperature environment, and when the temperature is too low, the electrolyte solidification phenomenon occurs, resulting in a decrease in the transport rate of lithium ions in the electrolyte.


3. Lithium ion diffusion rate

The diffusion rate of lithium ions in the graphite negative electrode decreases in a low temperature environment. A study indicates that the charge transfer impedance of lithium-ion batteries increases under low temperature conditions, which leads to a decrease in the diffusion rate of lithium ions in graphite anodes, which is an important reason for the low-temperature performance of lithium-ion batteries.


4.SEI film

In the low temperature environment, the SEI film of the negative electrode of the lithium ion battery is thickened, and the increase of the SEI film impedance leads to a decrease in the conduction rate of lithium ions in the SEI film. Finally, the lithium ion battery is charged and discharged in a low temperature environment to form a polarization to reduce the charge and discharge efficiency.


to sum up:

At present, many factors affect the low temperature performance of lithium ion batteries, such as the structure of the positive electrode, the migration rate of lithium ions in various parts of the battery, the thickness and chemical composition of the SEI film, and the choice of lithium salt and solvent in the electrolyte.

Label: Korea KTC
logo
Service Hotline400-840-8988
Address: 2st floor, B Area, Jinbaisheng Industrial Park, Headquarters 2 Road, Songshan Lake Hi-tech Industrial Development Zone, Dongguan City, Guangdong Pr., China. Telephone: 0769-8507-5888-6617 Fax: 0769-8507-5898 Mailbox: net01@gdestl.com
Wechat Public Number

Focus on Wechat
Public Number

Hotline

400-840-8988
0769-8507-5888-6617
7*24-hour service hotline

QQ

Online consultationServe you sincerely

Wechat

二维码Focus on Wechat
TOP

欢迎访问储能检测公司官网!

当前位置:首页 > 认证资讯 > 技术资讯

制约锂离子电池低温性能的因素主要有哪些?

编辑:储能检测 文章分类:技术资讯 发布时间:2019-08-18 浏览量:41

锂离子电池主要由正极材料、负极材料、隔膜、电解液组成。处于低温环境的锂离子电池存在着放电电压平台下降、放电容量低、容量衰减快、倍率性能差等特点。制约锂离子电池低温性能的因素主要有以下几点:


1.正极结构


正极材料的三维结构制约着锂离子的扩散速率,低温下影响尤其明显。锂离子电池的正极材料包括商品化的磷酸铁锂、镍钴锰三元材料、锰酸锂、钴酸锂等,也包括处于开发阶段的高电压正极材料如镍锰酸锂、磷酸铁锰锂、磷酸钒锂等。不同正极材料具有不同的三维结构,目前用作电动汽车动力电池的正极材料主要是磷酸铁锂、镍钴锰三元材料和锰酸锂。吴文迪等研究了磷酸亚铁锂电池与镍钴锰三元电池在-20℃的放电性能,发现磷酸铁锂电池在-20℃的放电容量只能达到常温容量的67.38%,而镍钴锰三元电池能够达到70.1%。


2.高熔点溶剂


由于电解液混合溶剂中存在高熔点溶剂,锂离子电池电解液在低温环境下黏度增大,当温度过低时会发生电解液凝固现象,导致锂离子在电解液中传输速率降低。


3.锂离子扩散速率


低温环境下锂离子在石墨负极中的扩散速率降低。某研究指出低温环境下锂离子电池的电荷迁移阻抗增大,导致锂离子在石墨负极中的扩散速率降低是影响锂离子电池低温性能的重要原因。


4.SEI膜


低温环境下,锂离子电池负极的SEI膜增厚,SEI膜阻抗增大导致锂离子在SEI膜中的传导速率降低,最终锂离子电池在低温环境下充放电形成极化降低充放电效率。


总结:


目前多因素影响着锂离子电池的低温性能,如正极的结构、锂离子在电池各部分的迁移速率、SEI膜的厚度及化学成分以及电解液中锂盐和溶剂的选择等。

底部logo
全国免费服务电话400-840-8988
地址: 东莞市松山湖高新技术产业开发区总部二路金百盛产业园B区二楼 电话: 0769-8507-5888-6617 传真: 0769-8507-5898 邮箱: gdestl@gdestl.com
微信公众号

扫一扫关注
微信公众号

咨询热线

400-840-8988
0769-8507-5888-6617
7*24小时服务热线

QQ咨询

在线咨询真诚为您提供专业解答服务

关注微信

二维码扫一扫添加微信
返回顶部